The Tale of the Scissors

Standard

I thought that I could leave my 1 1/2 year old and my 4 year old unattended for the 5 minutes it takes to shower (ok, 8 minutes; ok 10). I’ve done it before with no catastrophic results. Other parents must shower.

Alas, the scene I found when I emerged the other day would indicate otherwise.

My first indication something was amiss was the plaintive calls of the little one. She was stranded on top of a large basket of clothes where her sister had deposited her before abandoning her for more tasty and deviant diversions.

As next I found the big one traipsing out of my bedroom holding a pudding cup (retrieved from a high cupboard courtesy of a floor to chair to counter climbing expedition) that she had been in the process of opening with scissors which were now pudding-covered and IN HER MOUTH. (I have heard running with scissors is frowned upon. I suspect ‘walking with scissors in mouth’ is not really a grey area of this particular danger)

Turns out I can only shower when Daddy is home or the kids are in restraints. And the big one is still on probation for her multiple violations.

4 responses »

  1. Ha! My twins are 18 months and I haven’t showered in a non-naptime for….18 months. 🙂 I finally took advantage of them being strapped into their highchairs during lunch (this should be safe, no?) to dash upstairs and throw a load of laundry in. What do you know? One of them threw up. Cue mom guilt at not knowing why or how.

  2. Pingback: The Tale of Bad Behaviour | Tales of a Reluctant Mother

Leave a Reply

